Research Guides: Microbiology : Databases

What's a Database?

Databases are designed to help students and researchers find the best journal articles, news, career information, and reference books. They are available online through library purchase agreements. You may choose to search all databases in a collection at a time, multiple databases by subject, or just search one at a time.

When off-campus, you will be prompted to log in. Use the same username & password that you use for the campus computers. No need to authenticate when on campus.

Tip: EBOOKS can be found in EBOOK CENTRAL and SALEM Press Databases.

A-Z DATABASES
Complete listing of NPC Library databases for your research.

Career Information

Career and Technical Education, Proquest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Vocations and Careers offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Salem Career Guides
Available in print in the library or online from this link.

Best Databases for Health Information

Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Database with focus on consumer health information.
Gale Health and Wellness offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
Fantastic for current events, controversial issues, and pro/con points of view.
Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Nursing & Allied Health - Proquest This link opens in a new window
This Proquest database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
1400 nursing and health journals, plus videos, dissertations, reference books.

Why not just Google it?

Using the research databases from the library has many advantages over searching on the web. Really! Why else would we pay good money so you have access to this "hidden" web?

5 Good reasons to use databases from the library:

Save time! Searching is easy
Articles can be saved, emailed, and printed quickly
Free! Millions of free full-text articles all in one place
Citations provided in MLA, APA, and other styles
Reliable, edited sources. No selling, nut job rants, or folks with an ax to grind!