It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
United States History: Databases
Your guide to research sources in American History.
Databases are designed to help students and researchers find the best journal articles, news, career information, and reference books. They are available online through library purchase agreements. You may choose to search all databases in a collection at a time, multiple databases by subject, or just search one at a time.
When off-campus, you will be prompted to log in. Use the same username & password that you use for the campus computers.No need to authenticate when on campus.
Tip: EBOOKS can be found in EBOOK CENTRAL and SALEM Press Databases.
Biography In Context provides articles on the world's most influential people. You can search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Fantastic for current events, controversial issues, and pro/con points of view.
Issues & Controversies helps students and researchers understand today’s crucial issues by exploring hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Journal, magazine, peer-reviewed articles and newspapers, covering every subject area.
This is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.
Gale In Context: U.S. History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. U.S. History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World Book Advanced is a powerful reference tool that includes full encyclopedic and multimedia databases supplemented with online books, primary sources, website links, back in time articles, special reports and more.
Why should I use library research databases instead of a Google search?
Using the research databases from the library has many advantages over searching on the web. Really! Why else would we pay good money so you have access to this "hidden" web?
5 Good reasons to use databases from the library:
Save time! Searching is easy
Articles can be saved, emailed, and printed quickly
Free! Millions of free full-text articles all in one place
Citations provided in MLA, APA, and other styles
Reliable, edited sources. No selling, nut job rants, or folks with an ax to grind!