Skip to main content

U.S. History in Context: Info & Tutorials

Gale U.S. History in Context Information & Tutorials

U.S. History In Context

U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

Go to the Gale Resources Page for quick access to dozens of databases.

Please note: if you are off-campus, you must log in to use the research databases. Off Campus Login Page

Go to Database

UHIC Power Search

Enter a word or term to search

UHIC Search Tips

U.S. History in Context Blog

U.S. History In Context provides comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.

Some of the content featured and benefits of U.S. History In Context include:

  • Millions of full-text articles drawn from top periodicals and newspapers; including The New York Times, America, American History, The Journal of Southern History, and National Geographic
  • Thousands of images, videos, and audio selections from NPR, The History Channel, Associated Press, and other trusted sources.
  •  5,000+ rare and vital primary source documents. Examples include:
    • Excerpts from former slave William Wells Brown’s Narrative of the Life of William Brown (1847)
    • Excerpts from Henry David Thoreau’s Walden (1854)
    • Personal account of General Charles Cornwallis’ surrender at Yorktown in 1781
    • President Franklin Delano Roosevelt’s Japanese Relocation Order (1942)
    • The papers of President John F. Kennedy

UHIC Tutorial - Basics

In Context - Basics

UHIC Tutorial - Search Results

In Context - Search Results

UHIC Tutorial - Topic Pages and Documents

In Context - Topic Pages and Documents

U.S. History in Context

Aligned to state and national curriculum standards, U.S. History In Context provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people. Comprehensive, contextual, media-rich information is provided on topics ranging from the arrival of Vikings in North America, to the stirrings of the revolution, through to the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror. An always-intuitive experience supports the development of critical thinking and information literacy skills.

More Gale Resources

Subject Guide

Jennifer Evans's picture
Jennifer Evans
Contact:
Please contact me if you have any problems (i.e. broken links) or questions regarding any of my Guides. I'd also love to hear from you with any comments, suggestions or positive feedback.
Thanks, & happy researching!
Ph: 501.760.4105