Skip to main content

Gale Database Tutorials: Biography in Context

Gale is a global leader in education, learning, and research resources online, with a vast digital archive of research databases and reference books. This guide contains tips and tutorials for searching these databases.

Biography in Context

Virtually every course of study is ultimately tied to the study of people. Biography in Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images. Covering a vast array of people from historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers, it’s continuously updated to ensure that students have access to the very latest information.

Go to the Gale Resources Page for quick access to dozens of databases.

Please note: if you are off-campus, you must log in to use the research databases. Off Campus Login Page

Go to Database

BIC Power Search

Enter a word or term to search

Biography In Context

Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Guide Owner

Jennifer Evans's picture
Jennifer Evans
Contact:
National Park College Library
101 College Drive
Hot Springs, AR 71913
501.760.4105
Website / Blog Page

BIC Tutorial - Basics

Biography In Context - Basics

Basics

BIC Tutorial - Search Results

Biography In Context - Search Results

Search Results

BIC Tutorial - Topic Pages and Documents

Biography In Context - Topic Pages and Documents

Topic pages and Documents

BIC Search Tips

BIC - About

BIC Blog

Get Up Close and Personal with the World’s Most Influential People

She changed the course of history when she refused to give up her seat on a public bus to a white passenger in the 1950s. She will forever be remembered as an African American civil rights activist whose actions one day, in Montgomery, Alabama, spurred a citywide boycott and helped launch efforts nationwide to end segregation of public facilities. Her name was Rosa Parks.

But, there is so much more to Parks’ story. Wouldn’t it be great if there were a resource that offered everything you could possibly want to know about historical and prominent figures like Parks in one place? There is. It’s called Biography In Context and it’s a research resource that’s built on an extensive foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering a substantial number of international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

The challenges, motivations, successes, and failures of history’s notables can be educational and inspiring to researchers and Biography In Context offers authoritative reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and a vast array of images. The research tool covers more 400,000 international figures and is continuously updated to ensure that researchers have access to the very latest information on everyone from Abraham Lincoln to Donald Trump.

For those who are more visual learners, Biography In Context offers images on the homepage that have hot spots that when scrolled-over show additional content and details associated with that image. This is a feature exclusive to this research tool.

Biography In Context allows you to take on your research with the support of the most highly respected sources including millions of full-text articles drawn from hundreds of periodical and newspapers including The New York Times, USA Today, Daily Mail (London), and Globe and Mail (Canada).

Come face-to-face with your subjects via engaging videos, audio selections, and images of yesterday’s and today’s most studied figures. Get to know your idol by giving this resource a whirl at Gale/Cengage Learning.

More Gale Resources