Skip to main content

Current Events & Controversial Issues: Research Databases

Resources for choosing a topic and research material for assignments on hot topics, controversial issues, and current events.

Researching Current Issues: Where to Start?

Can't decide on a topic? Explore these databases to see what's available and to get started. They are designed to help students develop critical thinking and research skills. They make it easy!

What's a database?

Databases are designed to help students and researchers  find the best journal articles, news, career information, and reference books. They are available online through library purchase agreements.  You may choose to search all databases in a collection at a time, multiple databases by subject, or just search one at a time. 

When off-campus, first login to the database you need to access these links.

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS 

No need to authenticate when on campus.

Tip: Our EBooks are searchable from our online catalog or from the Ebook Central and Salem Press Databases.

 

OFF CAMPUS LOGIN

When off-campus, you must login first to use the links to research databases and access e-books.

Login: Your  NPC ID number. Password:  last 4 digits of your social security number.  Then select the database you need.

When on campus, you don't need to log-in. Just click the links.

Library Director

Sara Seaman's picture
Sara Seaman
Contact:
sseaman@np.edu
501-760-4101
Website / Blog Page

Best Issues Databases

Newspaper Databases

Background Information

Use these research databases for background information and articles on your topic.